Suicide prevention day

10th September 2020 marks suicide prevention day. It’s always an important day, but especially now, where this year we’ve experience a pandemic which has affected the world, and our lives. In 2018 there were 6859 registered deaths of suicide in the UK. As many people are aware, in 2018 I lost my big sister to suicide; her death, like many others are not in these statistics as the death is registered as misadventure. I can only imagine how many more people took their lives, but are not counted in the numbers.

1 in 4 people suffer with mental health problems and chances are that if you don’t experience mental illness yourself, someone close to you will. And at given moment, your life could be turned upside down, to hearing news that you’ve lost someone you loved to suicide. I can not begin to explain how it felt for myself in that moment, when I was told my sister, Natalie had died from suicide and I can’t begin to imagine how my parents must have felt.

I want nothing more, but for people to be aware of how the statistics, for people to be aware that this is real and that no one has to be alone it it. It can be such a dark and scary place to be in, and it can feel hopeless and pointless and like there is no reason to keep fighting, but I promise you this this moment will not last, that nothing lasts for ever and this too shall pass. Grab onto the people around you, let them in, be honest and don’t battle it alone, because you don’t have too.

And if you know someone who is experiencing suicidal thoughts, keep in touch with them. Remind them they are not alone, catch up with them, remind them they will get through this and that you care, and love them.

Natalie, I’m sorry we were to late, but where ever you are, know that we would have done anything to help you and that you didn’t have to be alone. That we, I still, love you, more than I ever could and nothing will take that away.

Stand up, don’t be alone.

Published by jessielouwil

Jessica Louise. 27. Trying to blog about my story with Borderline Personality Disorder (and more) to raise awareness, end stigma and help people know they are not alone, and about losing my sister to suicide. Not through the fight yet. Days can be dark. I may go silent, but I am here fighting or at least trying. I am not always perfect, none of us are, but trying to be a better person for me and hate less and be more assertive. Just remember you are not alone. It can always get better but it takes time and hard work. Blips may happen, it is not failure but the path to your life and sucesss. Having a mental health problem is nothing to be ashamed about. Its so easy saying it but even I know it can be hard and it can feel isolating so let's fight, together. Hold onto hope and it will keep you alive.

Leave a comment